Home News

New LHA publication debuts- Moody News

PDF Print E-mail

The Lowell Housing Authority begins publication of it's monthly newsletter...introducing the Moody News!

"The goal of this newsletter is to keep you up to date on policy and procedure changes, capital improvement projects, resident and staff stories of interest as well as to provide seasonal life and safety tips and advice. The Moody News is born out of our desire to help ensure that you have current and valuable information in a transparent and consistent basis." - Executive Director/CEO Gary Wallace

Click on the link below to get your copy now!

If you don't already have the free Adobe Reader, you can get it here

FileFile size
Download this file (MoodyNewsDebut.pdf)MoodyNewsDebut.pdf723 Kb

LHA Receives 2015 NAHRO and NERC/NAHRO Merit Awards

PDF Print E-mail

LHA Receives 2015 NAHRO and NERC/NAHRO Merit Awards


The National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Organization (NAHRO)

has announced the Lowell Housing Authority (LHA) is a recipient of a 2015 Merit Award in Housing and Community Development for its Public Housing Community Garden Initiative and a second award for its Healthy Homes/Asthma Intervention Program. Additionally, the LHA is being presented with a 2015 NERC/NAHRO Regional Award of Merit for its Healthy Homes/Asthma Intervention Program.


The Merit Award for the Community Garden Initiative is being presented for the unique approach the LHA, in cooperation with Mill City Grows, undertook to involve residents in educating, planning and planting an organic community garden which harvested a variety of healthy produce for the LHA residents.


The Merit Award and NERC/NAHRO award for the Healthy Homes program is recognizing the LHA, in conjunction with UMass Lowell, the Lowell Community Health Center, and the Coalition for a Better Acre, for providing asthma intervention in the LHA’s public housing units. The major goals of the program were to remediate homes for environmental triggers of asthma and improve the health outcomes of residents.


The NAHRO Awards will be presented at the July NAHRO Summer Conference in Austin, Texas. The NERC/NAHRO Regional Award will be presented at their Annual Conference in June in North Falmouth, Mass.




LHA announces historic changes to the Board of Commissioners (4/14/2015)

PDF Print E-mail

LHA announces historic changes to the Board of Commissioners

Dear Stakeholder:

The Lowell Housing Authority is pleased to announce the election of Ms. Bopha Peou as the new Chairperson for the LHA Board of Commissioners. Ms. Peou was selected by her fellow members at the Annual Meeting of the Board of Commissioners held at the Mercier Center on March 11, 2015. Ms. Peou, who has served as a member on the Board since 2013, is also the first Cambodian-American elected as Chairperson.  Bopha was born in Phnom Penh, Cambodia and escaped to a refugee camp in Khao E. Dang, Thailand. She came to the US in 1987 and lived in California, eventually moving to Massachusetts in 1991. Bopha recently returned as part of the Lowell delegation, that included Mayor Rodney Elliot, to Cambodia to meet with other government officials.

Also at the LHA Annual Meeting, Attorney Patricia Sullivan Talty was elected Vice-Chairperson of the LHA Board of Commissioners. Attorney Talty joined the Board of Commissioner in 2014. She is a former Lowell City Solicitor and is a current professor at UMass Lowell and Middlesex Community College. She also serves on the Board of the House of Hope.

In other Board news, Governor Charles Baker recently appointed Mr. Robert McMahon to serve on the Board of Commissioners for a five-year term. We are pleased to welcome back Mr. McMahon who had previously served as the Labor Representative on the Board from 2001-2006.

At the Annual Meeting, Mary Ann Maciejewski, Assistant Executive Director and I pledged our continued professionalism, leadership, and cooperation in meeting the best interests of the Agency. I would also like to publicly thank Kristen Ross-Sitcawich for her five years of service on the board.


Dr. Gary K. Wallace, Executive Director


LHA continues efforts to support veterans (4/14/2015)

PDF Print E-mail

LHA continues efforts to support veterans

Dear Stakeholder:

The Lowell Housing Authority is pleased to announce the promotion of Samuel T. Talbot. Sam was recently promoted to the Property Manager-State position. A former veteran, Samuel Talbot served in the U.S. Navy on the USS Constellation as an (E3) Airman. He received several medals and ribbons during his service. He has a AS Degree in Engineering from Quinsigamond Community College, Worcester and has extensive experience as a Field Engineer, Drill Rig Assistant, Research Assistant, and served as an on-call Firefighter in Sterling, Mass. Sam was hired by the LHA as a Maintenance Custodian in Facilities Management in August of 2011 and has received perfect attendance during his time as a Custodian.


The Lowell Housing Authority is also pleased to announce the hiring of Patrick R. Mullen., a U.S. Army veteran, as a Maintenance Custodian in the Facilities Management Department. Patrick Mullen served in Afghanistan in the U.S. Army as an 11b10 Infantryman. He served as an Infantryman for 4 years during which time he received numerous medals, ribbons, and badges including: Afghanistan Campaign Medal W/Campaign Star, Army Commendations Medal, Army Good Conduct Medal, National Defense Service Medal, Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, Army Service Ribbon, Overseas Service Ribbon, Combat Infantryman Badge, and Driver and Mechanic Badge. Patrick is married and has one child and he lives in Lowell with his family.


The hiring of veterans is part of the commitment the Lowell Housing Authority Executive Director and Board of Commissioners made several years back  in resolving to hire Post 911 veterans to open positions at the LHA. The resolution states "To the extent permitted by law, the Lowell Housing Authority shall over the course of the next two years conduct increased outreach in order to engage and employ post 911 veterans as part of our hiring or selection process". The Board and the Executive Director are supporting the Operation Returning Veterans Program (ORV) by ensuring employment and supportive opportunities to our Post 911 Veterans.


The LHA congratulates Sam Talbot and welcomes Patrick Mullen on board!



Dr. Gary K. Wallace,

Executive Director