Chairman Mony Var joined the Board in 2021 and currently serves on the Finance Subcommittee. Commissioner Var is a longtime resident of Lowell and President and Owner of Mony Var Insurance agency, servicing Boston and Lowell. Chairman Var previously served on the Lowell Election Commission.

Name: Mony Var

Designation: Chairman

Vice-Chairman Rodney Elliott, a lifelong resident of the City of Lowell joined the Board in 2021. He was recently elected to represent the 16th Middlesex District in the State House of Representative and formerly the Mayor of Lowell and City Councilor. Prior to being the State House Representative, Rodney was the Assistant Regional Director with the State Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR). He also served for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for over 25 years as Director of Brownfield’s Redevelopment, Superfund Community Involvement Coordinator, Congressional Liaison, and Program Analyst. Rodney holds a bachelor’s degree from Plymouth State University, a Master of Public Administration from Suffolk, and a Master of Arts in Political Science from Catholic University in Washington, D.C.

Name: Rodney Elliott

Designation: Vice-Chairman

Philip L. Shea is a proud Lowell native with a lifetime of accomplishments.  Shea grew up in Lowell’s public housing in the Acre’s North Common Village.  Shea possesses a BA in Accounting from Bentley Collage.  He served in the the Lowell City Council, the Massachusetts House of Representatives, and the State Senate.  Shea finished his career as Chief Financial Officer under Secretary William Galvin.  Throughout his career, Shea was instrumental in developing federal, state, and local partnerships to revitalize Lowell, and is widely recognized for his leadership and mentoring of young public servants to ensure they reach their full potential.

Name: Philip L. Shea

Designation: Commissioner

Mr. Marr is a lifelong resident of the City of Lowell, and current resident of the Centralville section of the city.  He comes to the Authority with 21 years of experience in masonry construction and has performed work at several high-profile sites across the city.  Mr. Marr currently serves as an Executive Officer for the Massachusetts Bricklayers and Allied Craftsman, and as delegate for the Central Labor Council. Since 2004, Mr. Marr has also been a member of the Greater Lowell Technical High School Advisory Board Committee.



Matt Marr

Name: Matt Marr

Division: Board of Commissioners

Designation: Commissioner

Joanie Bernes is the Lowell Housing Authority’s Tenant Representative on the Board of Commissioners.  Joanie has held various positions throughout her professional career including hospitality, and customer service, and was part owner of a small business.  Joanie is an active participant of the City View Towers Tenant Council, and a volunteer with Community Teamwork Inc.

Name: Joanie Bernes

Division: Board of Commissioners

Designation: Commissioner